mad skills

At work today my officemate commented that there are a lot of extremely moody people at work. But, you know, somehow? I don’t think he was referring to his seething rage this morning as he talked about a certain project…

Later, the Anne’s boyfriend episode was casually mentioned, and I lightly said, as the slightest hint of an apology, “I guess that was *my* day to be moody…” Looking back, I can admit I overreacted. Heck, I could admit it that day, but I really was irked. And my officemate should understand, because just today someone threatened to show a funny picture of him at a meeting tomorrow, and he declared that he doesn’t like to be the center of attention. In any case, I was told during another conversation with someone else to brace myself because the Nebraska-boyfriend thing will probably be brought up again at some point. Yes, I have realized this, and I think I’m over it. We’ll see…

The topic was brought up again today because some of the guys from Nebraska were visiting. (One of them told me I could do much better than that guy, btw. Thanks, Steve!) 

At one point, I was working with two other Nebraska guys, and I’d asked a question. One replied basically that so-and-so just does that sometimes. “Don’t ask me why,” he says. So of course, I reply, “But why?” A third guy laughed heartily – I guess you had to be there 😀 – and another guy asks him, “Oh, have you worked around Anne before?” He said it with a smile, and in a sort-of familiar way, as if he expects me to say clever (or possibly zany/goofy) things like that.

Maybe I’m not telling it well, but, given my wee-small crush on the guy who said it, it was nice.

On a side note, does anyone else find themselves thinking all of these less-than-professional thoughts at work? :blush:

Leave a Reply

