I guess that’s why they call it “work”

The particular frustrations of my job:

Them: “You know this thing that you’ve never seen before?”

Me: “Um, no…”

Them: “Okay, just go ahead and design it. And if you ask a question? We’ll only give you a short, insufficient answer, so you probably shouldn’t even bother. While you’re at it, go ahead and invent a perpetual motion machine as well.”

Me: (thoroughly overwhelmed and frustrated)

No, I don’t expect my entry-level engineering job to be easy, but I *was* under the impression that I would get the teensiest bit of help. The above conversation is only slightly exaggerated: they task me with something I’ve never done before and very little to go on. So I finally crank out something. They review it and tell me I’m wrong, but I’m still just as clueless on how to fix it.

Perhaps I should be flattered that they think I know so much, but at the same time, I keep recalling how one of my interviewers told me to “take everything you learned in school and throw it out the window.” Well, since I have no work experience to replace that tossed-out book-learning, I’m left with barely enough sense to come in out of the rain. :sigh:

Leave a Reply

