aftermath

After the events I described in the previous post, my officemate and I haven’t had much to say to each other. We’ve continued to greet each other with a friendly-sounding “Good morning,” but beyond that it’s been pretty quiet when no one else is around.

It occurred to me that most of our chatter before was probably instigated by me. Even when I’d tell myself, “Anne, he is trying to work. Stop talking to him.” I’d still think of something, and off I’d go, babbling away.

I thought about apologizing to him for spouting off like I did, but my boyfriend said it was probably best to let it go. Officemate has said – and from what I’ve seen of him, I believe it – that men hate to talk about things like that, so I decided it was best not to bring it up.

Yesterday, he wished me a good evening as he left, which he hasn’t done since Thursday. Maybe we’re both slowly getting over it? I hope so. I truly do.

Leave a Reply

