that ever-elusive happy medium

For the record, I know that my lesson learned (#38 in the previous post) is not a new concept. It’s been “said many times, many ways” even, but it was just really driven home to me in at least one part of my life last year.

And that would be the change of the person that trains my OfficeMate and me. I’ve written here many times about my dissatisfaction with the lack of help we received previously. We finally voiced our complaints – heck, OM was about to quit because of the frustrations – and things were changed. In early December, a Former Employee was brought back and appointed as our trainer.

During the transition period, some higher-ups from the parent company were down to answer questions and offer assistance … yeah, they were pretty much policing the place. Things went smoothly, with all of us answering to their authority. But then they left. FE took the reigns, and I admit that I haven’t particularly liked all of the changes he’s been trying to start.

Really, it’s nothing terrible, or major. The toughest part is going from the hands-off approach in our training to a *very* hands-on, micromanager sort of situation. Wait, I tell a lie. The toughest part would have to be that after one and a half years at the job, we’re starting back at square one, and we KEEP. STARTING. BACK. THERE. It seems like every time I think I know something, FE rattles off a correction, and I find myself on the verge of despair, feeling as if I know nothing and have little chance of ever “getting” everything that there is to learn. FE even said that when he gets some things done and has more time to spend with us, we’ll “throw out everything we’ve learned and start from scratch.” To me, that says that I’ve wasted every minute I’ve spent at work so far – and I’m still wasting it, waiting for this crash course in FE-led training. (Yeah, I’m really looking forward to that, btw.)

Yet, having said all that, I’m still not sorry that we lobbied to get FE back. Our trainer now takes a more active role, and I’d rather have the frustrations that go along with that than the ones that come from being left on my own, overwhelmed by what I’m expected to do. Plus, what are the odds that any one person would provide the exact amount of training that each of us needs? And it occurs to me that I shouldn’t expect a perfect teacher when I’m certainly not the perfect student. Sometimes we just have to play the cards we’re dealt.

Leave a Reply

