the sunny side of blah

For the past few weeks, I’ve been suffering from the blahs. Work has been the most stressful it’s ever been, as I’ve been behind on projects and repeated attempts to seek help have resulted in maddeningly brief/useless replies. Either the stress or the medication I’ve been taking appears to be making my hair fall out at an alarming rate. Worst of all, my mother revealed to me last December that she’s “been depressed most of [her] adult life”, and lately her mood seems very down and no words of consolation have helped.

I call this funk “the blahs” because I’m not consistently sad enough to have “the blues.” Sure I have moments where it feels as if everything in my life is going wrong, but then I keep coming back to what Rick Warren (the Purpose-Driven Life guy) said: “At all times you have something good and something bad in your life. No matter how good things are in your life, there is always something bad that needs to be worked on. And no matter how bad things are in your life, there is always something good you can thank God for. You can focus on your purposes, or you can focus on your problems.”

So, I try to take things one day at a time. Or, failing that, one moment at a time.

Leave a Reply

