you just might get it all

“Be careful what you wish for
Because you just might get it all,
You just might get it all,
And then some you don’t want…”
–Chris Daughtry, in the song Home

Recently, I’ve been very behind in my projects at work, and more than once, while the work keeps piling up as I’m failing in my efforts to finish anything, I’ve thought, “If I could just hit a Reset button and start all over…”

Well, my silent prayer was answered because today I learned that, surprise! The company where I work is in talks to be sold to another company that I’ll call Brand X.

All of the higher-ups were being very positive about the whole thing, but we, um, lower-downs remain concerned. The typical response to queries about the outlook for jobs continuing was a cheery but vague, “We want to grow the company, and we can’t do that without good workers!” Call me a cynic, but I don’t exactly find that comforting.

I’m trying not to dwell on it too much at this point, but as I see it, whatever happens, there’ll be some starting over involved. If the sale does happen and they keep me on, at the very least I’ll have to be retrained to learn the Brand X way, and I might have to go work in their main office, which is an hour away. If they don’t keep me on, I’ll have to find another job, and who knows where I could end up then? Even if the sale doesn’t happen, I probably shouldn’t get too comfortable where I am because I’ll know that our assets are on the proverbial auction block.

Sigh. Maybe next time I’ll listen to you, Daughtry.

Leave a Reply

