quarking up

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but every once in a while my worryer grabs hold of a thought and just won’t let it go. Well, it happened again this week, after I read an article about the LHC and freaked out about it.

Actually to say that I freaked out is an understatement. Oh sure, I carried on, doing my work and chatting nicely with people, but I spent the better part of two days miserable with the *serious* blahs. I felt as if everything I ever believed in was for nothing. And, lest I spawn a rash of similar thoughts, that’s all the detail I’ll give about that.

Happily, prayerfully and thankfully, I’m all but over it. To be honest, I could’ve just as easily obsessed over a less grand event, action, or concept. Whatever the matter, I have to choose how I’m going to look at it: either with worry or with faith. Neither of my viewpoints will affect the target of my thoughts, but the worry option will leave me … not where I want to be. Hopefully this little exercise will make my faith be that much stronger the next time I face a challenge.

Because I’ve calmed down and can joke about it, I’ve taken to blaming the LHC for just about anything that goes wrong. For example, when my hair doesn’t behave the way I want it to or my socks don’t fit right, I smile, shake a mock-angry fist, and grumble, “Darn particle accelerator…”

Leave a Reply

