OfficeMate, no more

Fed up with the work situation my OfficeMate turned in his resignation. The next day, the bosses asked him to go ahead and leave since he was going to work for a competitor. Fortunately for him, he was able to start work at his new job two days later.

That was a few weeks ago, and since around that time, I’ve mostly found myself calmed down about the job situation. No, not because OM left. I think I’ve just finally come to terms with the way things are. I’m not even really angry at the bosses. They did what they had to do, and now I know what I have to do. And even though my last interview was a disaster and I’ve currently zero job prospects, most of the time I feel calmly positive about that, too. I encourage myself that I’ll keep looking for a new job, and I’ll take my time so I know I’m getting the right one.

And then there are days like today, where one of the consistently moody checker people chews me out, oozing with sarcasm, and I almost hope that they let me go after the “three month trial period” ends. What is it about this industry that allows such tactless, obstinate people to assume positions of authority? I don’t care if you think I’m the biggest idiot this side of the Mississippi – although, can one truly be a good manager with that kind of negative attitude? – if you want me to listen to what you have to say, you’ll make it a point to show me just the tiniest bit of respect.

OfficeMate felt he had to leave to get respect. Today’s incident is pretty much the standard for management where I work, and I can say with great confidence that they don’t care that OM left. (Sorta proves him right, yes?) So smugly self-righteous, they made it clear when they took over that there are “thirty people in line” for all of our jobs.

Is that a fact, managers? Because I can’t help noticing that a replacement has not yet been found for OM. As far as I know, there’ve only been two interviews, and both of those candidates had much less experience than OM did. Well, in the higher-ups’ defense, they didn’t say that there were thirty qualified people.

And it’s a funny thing about a lack of loyalty: it works both ways. Management wants me to understand how utterly replaceable I am. Okay. I get that. But do *they* realize? I don’t need thirty job offers to lure me away. One decent one is all it would take.

Leave a Reply

