a year in review – 2009

Again this year, I’m doing the Year End Review – 40 Questions meme.

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?
watched entire seasons of TV shows on-line, got diagnosed with the flu, rented a non-ground floor apartment, rented and drove a large moving truck, hired movers, received unemployment compensation, told my boyfriend about my websites/blog, almost got hit by a snake that fell out of a tree

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
For 2009, I had a few goals: 1) learn the Stayin’ Alive dance, 2) read another of Jane Austen’s books, and 3) get involved in something worthwhile.

Results: I definitely got involved with some worthwhile efforts; I didn’t read the book but I saw the A&E version of “Pride and Prejudice” and *loved* it, and I made zero progress toward learning the Stayin’ Alive dance.

For 2010, since 2009 went nothing at all like I thought it would, I’m actually scared to set any big goals. I just want to know my job better.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No – thankfully!

5. Where did you travel?
only to local cities that I’ve visited before

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
My biggest dream is still to own a home. If I can get closer to that in 2010, that would be awesome.

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
January 15th, the day my former supervisor told me I was fired

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I’m pretty pleased with what I accomplished during my unemployment. Sure, I started off sitting around and whining, but I got past that and really put a dent in my To Do list.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Thanks to getting fired, I felt like a failure most of the year, having to reply for nine months, “No, I haven’t found a job yet. Still looking.”

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Both! Thankfully nothing serious, but I visited doctors three times in two months: once for a stopped-up ear, once for an ingrown toenail, and once for my first-ever diagnosed case of the flu.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
In this Year of Living Frugally due to unemployment, I’m more proud of the things I *didn’t* buy: I repaired my years-old coat, I pulled an old coffeetable out of the attic to use for a printer table, and instead of buying a new cell phone, I dug out my old pre-paid model, which the company upgraded – to one that works – for free.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
The people who hired me! and Angie, who insisted that I apply for unemployment

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
The people who fired me

14. Where did most of your money go?
A dishearteningly large portion went to paying for an apartment where the fees for terminating the lease would’ve been more expensive than finishing it out. As I’ve heard it said, that apartment was very expensive, very inconvenient storage space.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The ample storage space in my new apartment

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
Congratulations by the Traveling Wilburys, because every time I hear it I think of how I felt so blindsided by my former bosses

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
Happier or sadder? maybe a little sadder
Older or wiser? this year, I’ve just felt older
Thinner or fatter? about the same
Richer or poorer? definitely poorer, since I was unemployed for nine months

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
been a blessing to other people

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
dwelling on how my boyfriend hasn’t sent me a single email all(!) year(!) [FYI, I sent him two earlier in the year, and I’m beginning to suspect that he’s lost my address.]

20. How did you spend Christmas?
My mom, sister and I opened our gifts, then ate lunch, then went to my cousin’s house for a visit. Back home, we finished the day by watching “While You Were Sleeping.”

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?
No

22. How many one-night stands?
Zero

23. What was your favorite TV program?
I *really* enjoyed watched Simon & Simon on-line.

24. Who did you spend the most time on the phone with?
my mother

25. What was the best book you read?
IIRC the only book I read was “Rebuilding the Real You” by Jack Hayford – and it was VERY good.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Make it Better (Forget About Me) by Tom Petty and the Hearbreakers. (I was pleasantly surprised to find a song of theirs I hadn’t heard – and an upbeat one at that!) I also really liked Free To Be Me by Francesca Battistelli.

27. What did you want and get?
a good new job

28. What did you want and not get?
a sensitive spot on my foot is not going away, and will probably require medical treatment: that is definitely not getting what I want!

29. What was your favorite film of the year?
Fave Film Released This Year: (didn’t see any movies in the theatre this year)
Fave Film Seen This Year For The First Time: the A&E version of “Pride and Prejudice”

30. What did you do on your birthday?
I worked on some computer projects, emailed a resume to my soon-to-be employer, ate my favorite lunch with the fam (including my dessert of choice, cherry pie), went with my sister to the mall, watched some of my favorite videos on-line – and made screencaps! – then watched Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
if I could’ve gotten my well-worth-the-wait job earlier in the year

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
Continuing my efforts from last year, I’m still trying to assemble outfits that I like. Hair-wise, I’ve been trying a new tip – blowdrying hair from the top (no flipping hair over to dry) – and I think that’s been helping my hair not to be so dry and brittle.

33. What kept you sane?
faith

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
This guy and a TV character, AJ Simon

35. What political/current events issue stirred you the most?
unemployment

36. Who did you miss?
the people from my old job

37. Who was the best new person you met?
Caren, from work

38. What changed the most in your life this year?
It feels like everything changed: I got a new job and a new apartment in a new city.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:
I’ve been surprised several times this year after being “so sure” I knew how things were going to work out. I guess that’s the lesson: don’t get too comfortable but don’t give up because you really don’t know what will happen next.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
“You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometime, you just might find you get what you need.” ~ The Rolling Stones

Leave a Reply

